FEMS Masters Thesis Award


Nominations for the 2022 Masters Thesis Award are now closed


In 2018 FEMS created a new European wide masters competition to showcase the best masters students from across Europe. The FEMS Masters Thesis award is intended to recognize the best Masters Thesis on Materials Science and Engineering, presented in any Academic Institution from the country of any FEMS member Society. FEMS Member Societies may nominate one candidate per year.
The 2022 FEMS Masters Thesis final will take place during the FEMS Junior EUROMAT conference in Coimbra, Portugal (19-22 July 2022).
Submissions should be sent to secretary@fems.org not later than 1 April 2022.


To be eligible, the Masters Thesis should have been obtained up to a maximum of two academic years before the FEMS final takes place.


Each FEMS Member Society taking part in the competition organises their own local heat and the winner from each local/national event goes forward to the European Final. The Member Society covers the travel and subsistence costs for their candidate.
The nomination must be accompanied of an extended summary (maximum two pages) of the Thesis and a short cv of the candidate. A support letter highlighting the major achievements of the Thesis should also be included (see FEMS Master thesis Award - Call for nominations document).
Responsibility for the selection of the recipient rests with the Award Selection Committee. This is composed of 5 FEMS EC members.
The National Societies may have their own rules and criteria, but should be aware of those specified by FEMS, in order to all the candidates being in similar conditions:
- Abstract
- Presentation
- Materials Science content
- Timing of Presentation
- Handling of questions from the judges.

FEMS Masters Thesis Award Final

At the Final, candidates will give a 10 minute presentation on their Master Thesis using PowerPoint, followed by a short Q&A session of questions posed by members of the judging panel.
The panel will score each candidate and to decide the overall winner who will be announced later in the conference during the awards ceremony.

FEMS Masters Thesis Award - Past Winners

Documents for download: 
File Nomination form915.21 KB